Mt. Dhaulagiri Expedition

The seventh highest mountain in the world The Dhaulagiri also known as “The White Mountain” is quite easily recognized because of its unique, mound shape when can be seen from treks that leave from Pokhara. Lying in the north-west side of Pokhara, this peak first attracted the Franch expedition that came to Nepal in 1950. Led by Maurice Herzog, the mountaineers looked up at this formidable peak and decided it was impossible to climb and turned their attention to Annapurna I, which they subsequently climbed. It was the discovery of Dhaulagiri’s height in 1809 that brought to light the fact that the Himalayan range of mountains was higher than the Andes in South America. At the time, the Europeans assumed Dhaulagiri as the highest mountain in the world. Numerous attempts were made at climbing this peak in the 1950s, but none were successful. Argentineans, Swiss and German climbers were competing with each other to reach the summit but finally on 13th May 1960, a Swiss Expedition led by Max Eiselin succeeded and put six climbers on the summit and among them was Kurt Diemberger. This was the 13th eight-thousander to be climbed; there were 13members on the expedition and them summitted on the 13th. Nawang Dorjee who was part of the expedition became the first Nepali to climb Dhaulagiri.

MAXIMUM : 45 Days
ENTRY : Baglung
EXIT : Pokhara

Day to Day Itinerary

Day 01 Arrivals in Kathmandu transfer to hotel
Day 02 Document apply for Dhaulagiri expedition permit
Day 03 Preparation for expedition in Kathmandu
Day 04 Drive from Kathmandu to Baglung
Day 05 Trek Baglung to Beni
Day 06 Trek Beni to Babi Chor
Day 07 Trek Babi Chor to Dharapani
Day 08 Trek Dharapani to Mudi
Day 09 Trek Mudi to Boghara
Day 10 Trek Boghara to Dabang
Day 11 Trek Dabang to Pine Forest
Day 12 Trek Pine Forest to Italian Base Camp
Day 13 Trek Italian Base Camp to Dhaulagiri Base Camp
Day 14-37 Climbing period of Dhaulagiri 8,167m
Day 38 Trek Base Camp to Tukuche
Day 39 Trek Tukuche to Yak Kharka
Day 40 Trek Yak Kharka to Marpha
Day 41 Trek Marpha to Jomsom
Day 42 TrekFlight from Jomsom to Pokhara
Day 43 Drive from Beni to Kathmandu
Day 44 Rest days at Kathmandu
Day 45 Departure your destination